2012 State Sand Green Championships

held at the Boyup Brook Golf Club

Thursday 9 August to Sunday 12 August 



  Watt the New King of Sand

Brady Watt, New King of the Sand 

Royal Perth's Brady Watt has captured his maiden State Open title by claiming victory in the Newman and Brooks Men's State Sand Greens Championship at Boyup Brook Golf Club.

Watt held his nerve in the stormy conditions to follow up his opening round two under par 70 with a brilliant one under par 71 to finish three under par for the Championship.

State Team Captain, Michael Dennis from Royal Perth, fell just short of claiming his sixth sand greens crown finishing in outright second place.    

Dennis opened with a course record 67 on Saturday to lead by three shots going into Sunday's final round.

Dennis, however, failed to handle the trying conditions, finishing with a five-over par 77, three shots behind Watt overall.

Tied a further four shots back in third place was Manjimuip's, Adam Davey and Goomalling's, Stephan Lord, who claimed the Closed Sand Green's Division title for the highest finishing sand green based player.

Watt's final round was by far the outstanding round of the final day as steady rain and strong winds lashed the tight Boyup Brook layout.

The significance of claiming his first State Championship title was not lost on the four time state representative guaranteeing he will return to defend his title in 2012 at Wongan Hills.

Watt will now turn his focus to the three remaining national ranking events of the year starting with Mandurah Amateur Open in September. 

Runner up, Michael Dennis and Winner, Brady Watt
President of GolfWA, Max Hannah, with Clayton Bell and trophies sponsored by Newman and Brooks
   In the beginning ......  Early morning players
Amazing Days at the Boyup Brook Golf Club
Start of the day
An amazing four days of golf competition was held at the Boyup Brook Golf course when Boyup Brook Golf Club and GolfWA hosted the State Sand Green Championships.
Over 200 golfers participated from around the state on a course that GolfWA Operational Manager, Clayton Bell stated and five times past champion, Michael Dennis agreed that, “The best course and greens I have played on for this event over the last ten years.”
As a warm up/get to know the course event, the Super Scroungers 2 person Ambrose event on Thursday was well attended with 150 players in the field.
The Four Ball Better Ball Friday competition attracted a large field of 196 players. The last golfers were encouraged to finish their round with the help of car headlights on the 9th and 18th holes much to the amusement of the waiting spectators. 
Early morning frost didn’t deter the early starters and sunshine greeted the fortunate afternoon round players but inclement weather on the final day sealed the fate of many.
The major weekend event, 36 hole State Green Championship stroke event, held on Saturday and Sunday with 181 players in the field soon developed into a tight tussle between Michael Dennis, Brady Watt, Steve Lord and Adam Davey. The winner for the first time was Brady Watt from Royal Perth.
The golfers reaped the benefits of many course changes set in place by Course Manager, Simon Purse and his team of workers. 
“A splendid course,” said Ian Fowler from Royal Perth Golf Club. “A course I would enjoy playing on each week.”
A variety of appetising food was available throughout the tournament from the on course stations and ‘the Food Bunker’ in the Clubhouse. The food was admirably co-ordinated by Rhonda Parker and her energetic team.
“It was a total team effort who worked together like a well oiled machine,” said Rhonda. “Huge accolades must go to Boyup Brook IGA for their helpfulness and support in supplying the produce and Todd Atherton for cooking the meat.”
Club President, Neville Parker thanked everyone for coming, sharing their talents and enjoying the company of the other golfers. 
He also thanked the members saying, “A big thank you to members, helpers on course, kitchen, bar and office workers and anyone else who contributed to the success of the tournament.”
“Special thanks to our wonderful major sponsors, CSBP, Newman and Brooks and the Department of Sport and Recreation but also to our many small business and local sponsors, thankyou,” said Neville.
Final touches to the course
Chipping to the 12th hole Food
Good first drive off No. 10 and more food
Having some fun He's not watching where my ball is going!  Things you find in the bush

 Course Manager, Simon Purse, SSG Chairperson, Michael Wallace, Club President, Neville Parker and Shire President, Michael Giles.  Sponsorship received from Department of Sport and Recreation

Super Scroungers Winners
Gross Winners
Evan Sewell and Michael Wallace
P. Gaby and P. Rowlings
T. Stephens and D. Pollard
R. Tremlett and W. Brennan
Nett Winners
Brady Watt and Brian Twigg
T. Dorozenko and Gary Thomas
J. Scott and M. McKay
J. Aird and S. Clark
Peter Hilder and Peter House
No. 1
Longest Putt
Brady Watt
No. 2
Longest Drive 7-14 hcp
R Ditchy
No. 3
Nearest to the Pin
Fred Knight
No. 4
Closest Chip
Simon Haywood
No. 5
Longest Drive 15-21 hcp
Brady Watt
No. 6
Nearest to the Pin
Dave Wiley
No. 7
Closest Third
Mark Williams
No. 8
Closest Second
Jock Aird
No. 9
Closest Second
Ian Carlshausen
No. 10
Closest Third
Evan Sewell
No. 11
Closest Chip
D. Lloyd
No. 12
Nearest to the Pin
Darren Wilson
No. 13
Longest Drive 0-6 hcp
Gubba Goldfields
No. 14
Closest Second
Fred Knight
No. 15
Nearest to the Pin
Dave McIntosh
No. 16
Longest Putt
Tim Stephens
No. 17
Longest Drive 22+ hcp
Harvey Norman
No. 18
Longest Putt
Evan Sewell



Super Scrounger Trophies sponsored by CSBP

Winners are grinners

Coming in with the headlights on Some go bush for the weekend Boccie hits saves Jock the effort
Team effort putting the gift bags together What goodies do we have here? We've got our bags and we are off
Gary and Tom get into strife on No. 7 
Four Ball Better Ball Stableford
Nett Winners:
David Stribley and David Wyllie
49 points
Peter Hilder and Peter House
48 points
Evan Sewell and Tom Dorozenko
46 points
Greg Baschiera and Greg Jorgensen
45 points
Tim Dowdell and Michael Wallace
45 points
Gross Winners:
Peter Rowling and Peter Gaby
41 points
Stephen Lord and Graham Jones
41 points
Peters Hilder and House.  From NAGA to Runners up 
   After a hard day at the office
 End of another day of hard yakka Relaxing Great way to end a day 
 Ready for a good game The golf's not all bad We're still mates at the end of the day
   The Food Bunker  
Kitchen staff take a break Hockey girls get the BBQ's going Some balls came pretty close to the course food outlets  
   The Outside Workers  
 The local lads Tarp goes up  Late night workers - redoing the holes and bagging the greens   
What's on the Menu Ladies?  
 Breakfast is ready What's cooking in the kitchen  There's no room for you Nev!   
   Colourful Characters  
Where's Wally Radar Here's Wally   




The Boyup Brook Golf Club sincerely thank the following sponsors.  Please support these businesses
Major Sponsor: CSBP Major Sponsor: Newman & Brooks Boyup Brook Co-op Middle East Engineering Coates Hire Beulah WinesSanctuary Golf Resort  
Major Sponsor: Department of Sport and Recreation  Milne Feeds  Moylan Silos  Tasman Shearing  Northlands Bed & Breakfast  Hastie Waste